East2WesTrending

Can't keep up with the new, hot, and hip on your coast? Us either. That's why we created this: From technology to fashion, we're your one stop shop for the latest in coastal trends.

East2West Trends Chapter 9. 29.13

Welcome back to East2West, and happy October!!

This week, we’re starting out with the West side!

POLITICS

Ok I lied like a politician, because this week in politics, it doesn’t matter if you live on the East Coast, the West Coast or Antarctica. Our government could use some serious help! I’m looking at you East Coast Sara to run for office, because with this government shutdown, I worry for the future.

#SaraRosalyn for President and Vice President in 2028? We should probably start campaigning now!

So back to our nation’s problems, this week, CNN did a great breakdown of “What You Need to Know”. I found it interesting that no matter what, the President’s $400,000 is considered mandatory spending!

Check it out here:

http://www.cnn.com/2013/09/30/politics/government-shutdown-up-to-speed/index.html

Also, I was saddened to see the tape around the Lincoln Memorial. When I lived in DC, it was one of my favorites to walk around and see up close. I would go there weekly in awe that it was right there where I lived. Now all you see is this. :

http://www.nytimes.com/news/fiscal-crisis/2013/10/01/disappointed-tourists-find-washington-monuments-closed/?_r=0

I feel bad for the tourists who came to see it! If you’re on the West Coast flying in, that is quite the flight and disappointment.

Here’s to hoping the shutdown does not last another week!

ENTERTAINMENT

This week, I’m still tired of Miley Cyrus. She was naked again and even hosted Saturday Night Live last night if you can’t get enough of her and want to watch it. Today, I’d like to talk about fall premiere shows and one that I think has so much potential.

I first met Rebel Wilson on the red carpet at the White House Correspondents’ Dinner. Even though it was a brief moment we shared, I thought this girl was hilarious.  I was so excited to see her new show “Super Fun Night”, because I was amazed at how nice and awesome she was in real life. Now I wont spoil the show for anyone who hasn’t seen it, but I think it has a lot of potential. It’s easy to root for Rebel, and her super fun nights are ones that I want to have with her. I love that she also writes this show. Now I know there are some bad reviews out there, but it was just one episode so don’t dismiss her entire season just yet. It airs Wednesdays on ABC at 9:30 PM Pacific and Eastern.

FASHION

I’m so glad we cover fashion, because there is something I have to get off my chest this week regarding CA fashion!

It’s 90 degrees. Seriously, why are we wearing UGGs or fall boots with skirts and shorts?

This trend is really bothering me, and let me tell you why.

Now I know UGGs are cute and come in all colors and even with bows and ribbons now, but if I wear UGGs or boots, it’s normally because I’m wanting my feet to be warm.
I grew up in Colorado where we wore boots for practical purposes. Now I know that it’s fall, and boots are in style. I get it. I really do, but if it’s 90 degrees and I’m sweating and hot in my summer dress and flip flops, I can only imagine what it must feel like in those furry boots.

I’m not with the trend out here, but I’m starting to understand the want for winter when you don’t have one.

TECHNOLOGY

I like to think about technology and how it changes our lives. There’s a Youtube video that has over 25 million views, and it touches on this very subject. I just saw this and think it makes a very valid point. It’s called “I Forgot My Phone”. For those of you who have or haven’t seen this, I think that maybe we should forget our phones more. I thought about how much time I spend just staring, texting, searching, Facebooking, etc. on my phone and how this all becomes an addiction. Maybe I’m addicted to my cell phone, but I also feel sad when I see two people at a coffee shop table, lunch or dinner and both of them are looking at something on their phones instead of each other.

If you haven’t seen this video, it’s a must see. :

SOCIAL GOOD

So this week, I want to show an example of the power celebrities have to do something good. We all have the power to do something good for someone, celeb or not, and it’s so refreshing to see when stars that are idolized can bring such happiness in someone’s life.

This is a story about a brother who wants his sister to stop being bullied so he writes Santa.

http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/video/brotherly-love-viral-big-time-rush-surprises-bullied-20316718

Big Time Rush, you did good! Senators, take note. On that note, I’ll let East Coast Sara tell us what’s really going on in that crazy, busy East Coast!—

Ugg, wonderful Fall highlights from my West Coast partner in crime (PIC)!

POLITICS

I want to start off by letting everyone now I will now be addressing you all as ‘my fellow citizens’ to get me into the campaign trail mindset. You’ll know when we’ve begun our appeals because well, it’s always that obvious but also because all fundraisers will require a dress code of ‘extra sparkles’ (Rosalyn is obsessed) and/or ‘black and white’ (I’m obsessed).

Ok, so onto the real politicians. There has been little progress on Capitol Hill and the question around town is, ‘has the shutdown affected you?’Whether monetarily or otherwise, the answer is yes. As Rosalyn’s post conveyed, tourists like my family and others consistently trickling into the city will have to make do with those attractions that are not government funded. The main buzz around this shutdown which West coasters may not be hearing so frequently about is the backpay that government employees will receive once they are able to return back to work, which has the rest of us just confused.

So what are all of these newly sebatticled employees doing with their free time? Speaking to many of them this past week, they’re catching up on life, other work, hobbies…and deals! DC businesses are currently offering exclusive deals for federal employees affected by the furlough. So for those of you who are unexpectedly taking an early Columbus Day break – check these out:

‘Jose Andres Sandwiches Internationally renowned chef Jose Andres is offering free sandwiches every afternoon during the shutdown to government employees. Bring your government ID into one of his three DC eateries — Zaytinya, Oyamel or Jaleo — from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. during the shutdown and receive a complimentary sandwich.

Z-Burger The burger chain is offering free burgers, with a valid government ID, to workers during peak lunch and dinner hours, 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., at four of its DC-area locations: Arlington, Tenleytown, Southwest and Columbia Heights. This offer extends until the end of the government shutdown.

Pork Barrel BBQ Pork Barrel BBQ is also offering free food for the duration of the shutdown to all government employees — well, every government employee except for members of Congress. The BBQ joint is serving up free pulled pork sandwiches all day, limit one per day, in Alexandria, Va.

Sophie’s Cuban DC The new restaurant opens this Thursday, and is showing its support for furloughed government employees by giving away empanadas. Make any purchase at the restaurant, and show your government ID, and you will receive three free empanadas.

Cupcake Blvd Cupcake Blvd. is offering one free cupcake to federal employees affected by the shutdown from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m., through Friday. So bring your federal ID to the Anne Arundel County cupcakery, and #KeepCalmHaveACupcake.

Taylor Gourmet This authentic market specializing in hoagies is offering furloughed federal workers “a 10 percent discount, career counseling and a cookie” with the purchase of any hoagie or salad.

Del Campo South American steakhouse Del Campo has another fix for federal employees with the shutdown blues. The restaurant is offering happy hour prices for the duration of the shutdown, all day long, with a government ID.

Sticky Rice An H Street NE sushi bar, Sticky Rice began offering half-price sushi and half-price domestic beers at 12:01 a.m. Tuesday in honor of the government shutdown.

Gourmet Cottage Gourmet Cottage, a store specializing in unique gourmet chocolates, wines, foods and gifts, is offering a government shutdown special of 15% off for all furloughed government workers and contractors. Present your valid government ID, and the discount is good until government re-opens.’

 Link: http://abcnews.go.com/Politics/dc-businesses-offer-helping-hand-federal-employees-amid/story?id=20436552

Aside from the irony of back paid, government employees also receiving discounts, let’s see how else this shut down is affecting things.

Health: In addition to productivity, the lack of funding has led to the halt of patient care and clinical trials. The National Health Institute alone will have to turn down 200 patients per week while representatives try to come to a consensus.

Link here: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2013/10/01/the-shutdown-could-prevent-kids-with-cancer-from-getting-treatment/

Aerospace: Soooo what about the people hangin’ out in space? I’m picturing the guys at NASA getting the phone call about the shutdown giving the astronauts a call saying, ‘well guys, we’re takin’ off. Not sure when this will all be resolved but just keep your helmet on. We’ll be back.’ Ok ok, so Mission Control is still up and running but NASA celebrated its 55th anniversary on Tuesday with 97% of its staff out of work. Can you believe it? Staggering.

See the story here: http://america.aljazeera.com/watch/shows/america-tonight/america-tonight-blog/2013/10/1/nasa-spokesman-shutdownnotagoodsituationforanyone.html

ENTERTAINMENT

And speaking of space, who has seen the new movie Gravity with Sandra Bullock? Apparently it’s phenomenal, 98% on the Tomatometer! Fun fact of the day – and shout out to my sister and all of the other aerospace engineers out there – is that Sandra Bullock was consulted by real astronaut and scientist, Cady Coleman for her role.  See an interview with the Cady and her take on the film: http://www.popsci.com/article/science/meet-cady-coleman-astronaut-who-taught-sandra-bullock-how-look-cool-spacesuit?dom=PSC&loc=recent&lnk=3&con=meet-cady-coleman-the-astronaut-who-taught-sandra-bullock-how-to-look-cool-in-a-spacesuit

astronaut bullock

We also have to celebrate the continuation of the longest running scripted show in TV history, The Simpsons. Fox Broadcasting Co. will continue to air the show and with ratings already up 12% from last year for the 25th season, it looks like the do’ oh!nut loving goofball will be around for many more years to come.

The-Simpsons-wallpapers-the-simpsons-400528_1280_1024

FASHION

I have to concur with Rosalyn on the ‘I know it’s still hot out but it’s also Fall so that means I can wear UGGs’ lack of practicality sentiment. On the other hand, if you can rock ’em and you’re comfortable, I think we would both say, go for it!
In other news, our favorite 90s originated pop star, Britney Spears is catching flack for her new video, featuring the club jam Work B**ch. It’s even been banned in the UK! If we’re talking wardrobe, then compared to Miley Cyrus’ Wrecking Ball she’s almost Amish status but I think perhaps critics are also referring to the dominatrix costumes, which in the world of pop culture is just barely starting to be talked about with the recent success of 50 Shades of Gray. But it’s Britney! And based on her various comebacks I’d say this is a minor speed bump in a still long career ahead.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pt8VYOfr8To

TECHNOLOGY

This week’s story is for all of the web developers out there who can appreciate some good ‘ol open source code. As a friend of mine and I attempt to get our venture off the ground we’re searching for open API and are amazed at the number of sites that offer it. So let me take this opportunity to say thank you to all of those websites that make their information available for us aspiring entrepreneurs, developers, natural techies, and bloggers. What kinds of companies offer open source? Square Inc. for one. The company that developed credit card readers that charge a flat rate of 2.75%, relatively low compared to that of the average credit card company. Square’s open source code has supported companies like Google and Dropbox – interested in accessing open source code but not sure what to do? Start here:

http://www.linuxbox.com/tiki/node/172

and read about Square’s philosophy on open source…

https://squareup.com/news/releases/2013/open-approach-to-code

SOCIAL GOOD

Pop quiz, what are the different types of organizations a company can designate itself under? LLC, 501©3, sole proprietorship, corporation…what are we missing…? For all those business owners trying to manage the delicate balance between social good and bottom line business, wait no longer! Now you can have both! It’s called Benefit Corporation or B Corp, not to be confused with Certified B Corporation. B Corps are a new business structure developed as a hybrid of social good and business. There are currently 837 companies in 27 countries and 60 industries that have embraced the B Corp structure. This emerging model is meant to elevate the standards of business while providing the flexibility business owners need to pursue their goals. Want more info? Check out this article: http://www.bcorporation.net/what-are-b-corps

Also, huge kudos to Big Time Rush for their appearance and championing denunciation of bullying. As an elementary school name callee, formerly known as ‘Sasquatch’ I think we can all jump on board that train. Great post Rosalyn. Until next week, may your days be merry and – as my roommate would say – your only pain be champagne! Oh, and don’t forget to vote, #SaraRosalyn for office 2028!

Ciao!

Xoxo

Sara

Leave a Reply

