East2WesTrending

Can't keep up with the new, hot, and hip on your coast? Us either. That's why we created this: From technology to fashion, we're your one stop shop for the latest in coastal trends.

East2West Trends Chapter Nov. 3, 2013

Happy November East2West Trend readers!
This is Rosalyn, and I think we have officially begun the start to a holiday season out here.
The Christmas trees are on display, and Santas are hanging out with elves in the malls. It always seems earlier and earlier, but we are always preparing for the future.

Speaking of the future, Politico made me think about the future this week.

POLITICS

If reports are saying that Elizabeth Warren may challenge Hilary Clinton for the Democratic nomination for president, I am excited about the future for my gender.

Elizabeth Warren 2016?

Hilary Clinton 2016?

I think it’s about time a woman ran for presidency and dare I say it, became the POTUS!

No matter what your politics are or where you live, I’m loving that there is so much speculation right now in November of 2013. I also love the competitiveness here.

“Yeah, Hillary is running. And she’ll probably win,” the aide added. “But Elizabeth doesn’t care about winning. She doesn’t care whose turn it is.”

Read more: http://www.politico.com/story/2013/11/elizabeth-warren-2016-99646.html#ixzz2kIeZ7HHd

ENTERTAINMENT

This week, I saw the romantic, life inspiring film “About Time”. It was such a sweet movie, and the guy next to me started tearing so I didn’t feel so bad that it made me tear up. If only we could all go back in time at some point!

After seeing a “girly movie” as my guy friends would say, I want to talk about a different kind of entertainment this week that I am currently a part of and don’t know why. It’s called fantasy football.

Now I want to preface this by saying I don’t know anything about football, but I do know that I look at my projections every week and try to take this as seriously as possible. I started the league out strong and even have Peyton Manning as my Quarterback (He’s the best. Go Broncos!), but now I’m afraid, I’m facing a losing streak at 3-7.

How did this happen? Should I not follow the projections? Perhaps my guy friends in the league just know more about this sport, but I’m starting to think that this whole league thing is just pure luck. That being said, fantasy luck has not been on my side this year, but it’s still entertaining me every week. For all of you guys and girls who are in a fantasy football league, I hope that your season is going better than mine!

FASHION

Have you ever wondered what a $10 million dollar bra would look like? I never wondered that either, but now I know! Thanks to Victoria’s Secret this week, this 25-year-old model gets to sport a cool $10 mil. on December 10th for their annual fashion show. Guys, stay tuned! Here’s a sneak peak at what that amount of money looks like. Wouldn’t this be super heavy though?!

Link for more on it here: http://www.examiner.com/article/candice-swanepoel-to-rock-a-10-million-victoria-secret-fantasy-bra

TECHNOLOGY

Technology, you amaze me! I was one of the nay-sayers on Twitter way back when it first started.

“Twitter is just a status update. Who would want to be on that?” is something similar to what I said back when it first started.

Now, let’s about how wrong I was about this little status update idea. Thanks to Twitter, we have trends and hashtags have new meanings.

CBS, I read your “The Future of Twitter” dotcom piece, and I watched your web extra special.

What amazes the most is this:

“According to Twitter, the company has more than 230 million users, who send around a half-billion tweets every 24 hours.

Last year revenue shot up 198 percent, to around $300 million.

But that brings up an equally staggering number: Twitter’s net profit, so far, is zero.”

Should I be buying stock in Twitter?

Thankfully Google always has the answers to my questions and articles that provide me with more insight.

Read more here: http://www.usnews.com/news/articles/2013/11/07/twitter-stock-soars-but-be-cautious-about-buying

Will you be tweeting in front of your tv?

Twitter, I’m sorry I discounted you at first, because I have a feeling you will sustain yourself for many years to come!

Speaking of this social media site,  we are starting up our own Twitter. You can be the first to follow us at @SaraRosalyn or use the #East2WesTrending!

SOCIAL GOOD

We can all learn a thing or 2 from kids, and this week, I want to feature some words from children that are creating those AW moments we all could use! Don’t forget that next week is World Kindness Week!

Check out “Words of Wisdom Through the Minds of Children” on Facebook or a few on The Huffington Post below.

One of my favorites comes from Hannah Cheatem, age 8, “If you’re feeling blue, try painting yourself a different color!”

Link here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/04/quotes-from-kids-wisdom_n_4194335.html?utm_hp_ref=gps-for-the-soul&ir=GPS%20for%20the%20Soul

Wise words, Hannah!

On that note, have a kind week and we’ll see you back here next week. Stay tuned for updates from DC Sara below!

xoxoxo,

Ros

Ahhh yes, Fall has settled in and I am SO excited about the Starbucks holiday drinks, changing leaves, and upcoming days off from work for inevitable festive binging. Could I be more American?

Thanks to Rosalyn for a look from the West coast, particularly the Victoria’s Secret article you covered because who doesn’t need a bra that’s only worth wearing to an international award show?

I don’t have any flashy bras to report about but maybe just as intriguing is the first ever flying dress…find out more below

POLITICS

In politics this week, people continue to feel the blow of the new healthcare plan as Obama apologizes to Americans for his prior false promise that those Americans who are satisfied with their health care plans would be able to keep it. I had an interesting conversation with a young German woman on the airplane the other day and she talked about how when their healthcare system first began it was also quite chaotic, as anyone might imagine. As a result, Sen. Joe Manchin, a Democrat from West Virginia has introduced  legislation that will delay the individual mandate penalty under Obamacare for a year after the rollout.

http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/video/obama-nbc-interview-president-americans-loosing-insurance-20826347

More here: http://www.buzzfeed.com/passantino/president-obama-says-he-is-sorry-millions-of-americans-are-l

Snags with a healthcare overhaul were inevitable but here’s to hoping for a swift pass through the that phase and onto the stable support and saving our society and system more money phase!

ENTERTAINMENT

 There is always just so much entertainment news to report on, I never know how to narrow it down. Luckily, Miley Cyrus was born, thus making my life a little easier by continuing to conduct herself in a reckless teenage boy type manner.

The key catch phrase this week for entertainment is ‘When in Rome!’ or in Miley’s case ‘When in… Amsterdam?’

Over the weekend, our former Disney diva accepted an award at the MTV European Music Awards in Amsterdam and instead of a standard hum drum ‘thank you’ speech, she decided to do what I’m sure was a cultural appeal on stage and light up a cannabis joint. I do have to give her props for her stellar multi-tasking there, and look at those heels! Perhaps she just needed a quick remedy to calm her nerves before the big performance.

Check out the full story here: http://www.cnn.com/2013/11/10/showbiz/music/miley-cyrus-smokes-emas/index.html?hpt=en_c1

miley at mtv awards

FASHION

So I realized in thinking about what I was going to cover this week that Ros and I have not yet covered the ultimate and outlandish fashionista herself, Lady Gaga. This past week, she brought it to a whole new level by entering center stage at the artRave, ARTPOP promotion event in Brooklyn with a levitating costume. Take a look:

I think the coolest thing about this is not that it’s the first flying dress every made but that Lady Gaga has her own Alfred Pennyworth, (Batman) but she’s got an entire unit of them and they are, on the daily, constructing new and creative ways for her to stand out via technology, clothing, and production sets for her shows. Inspired by Andy Warhol’s Factory, Lady Gaga’s creative teams is called Gaga’s Haus. How do I apply?

Check out more about the artRave event here: http://marquee.blogs.cnn.com/2013/11/11/lady-gaga-takes-flight/

TECHNOLOGY

Thanks to Ros for her story on Twitter and I’ll have to admit, I was a skeptic for a long time too but who could deny the potential success of a company run by such a dashing CEO?

Thumbnail_Jack_Dorsey

So anyway, if I wasn’t a social media advocate before (and of course I was), I am now. Harold Percival, a 99 year old World War II veteran passed away recently at a nursing home with no friends or family to speak of. Thanks to concerned citizens on Twitter, the story was picked up that the seasoned veteran may have no one to attend his funeral. From there, other media sources picked up the story and at 11am today, hundreds of people including service personnel showed up to honor the life and sacrifice of Harold Percival. This is such an amazing story and one I think we have to thank technology and both social and traditional media for, for spreading the word and giving Harold the culmination he deserves.

news article harold people - funeral

See more here: http://www.buzzfeed.com/tomphillips/a-veteran-died-with-nobody-to-attend-his-funeral-what-happe

SOCIAL GOOD

By now I’m sure you all have heard about super storm Typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda that hit the Philippines hard on Friday making its way to Vietnam where 600,000 people were evacuated. This is one of those moments when we can all be grateful for the technology out there that has helped the world provide support for and re-connect with the devastated regions.

Google  Person Finder has launched a website for Typhoon Yolanda for those who are both searching for loved ones and those who have found others. You can report those found or missing here: http://google.org/personfinder/2013-yolanda/. They have also launched a Crisis and Relief Map to show which areas are in the most dire need of support and accessible drop off locations for relief goods . Here is what the map looks like right now – 2:42pm EST http://google.org/crisismap/a/gmail.com/TyphoonYolanda

Untitled

Just one more reason to love @Google

@mGive and the @unfoundation  along with various other organizations are also helping out by doing things like launching a text donation campaign for victims. Click here for more details on how to help: http://world.time.com/2013/11/10/how-to-help-typhoon-victims/

Leave a Reply

