East2WesTrending

Can't keep up with the new, hot, and hip on your coast? Us either. That's why we created this: From technology to fashion, we're your one stop shop for the latest in coastal trends.

East2West Chapter Dec. 22, 2013

Image

With the busy holidays and both of us away from LA and DC, Sara and I will be posting special edition blogs before the end of the year.

Since it’s almost 2014, I want to reflect back on 2013 and say how the move to Los Angeles has really made me realize how different the coasts are.

When I went to pick up my contact lenses, the woman at the reception wanted to guess where I’m from. She said, “Let me guess, you’re from the East Coast?”. I was shocked. I wasn’t wearing anything fancy or acting in a certain manner, but just the idea that she could tell I lived on the East Coast just by looking at me blew me away. Lately, I’ve been thinking about how people always want what they don’t have.
Out in LA, I hear a constant want of snow and cold weather, but when I lived in CO, all I wanted was to see the beach in the winter time.

The trends I notice will continue in the new year, and until then, I want to give a huge thank you to my East Coast partner in crime for sharing what she’s been seeing too. When Sara and I came up with this idea in DC, I had no idea I’d be learning so much every week with her on here too. Sara is the kind of friend that you’re lucky to have and the person you wish you could be more like. Cheers to Sara and the East Coast!

Now since it’s the holidays, I thought I’d do a holiday take on all of the topics we talk about.

POLITICS

The President took his annual trip to Hawaii-a 17 day vacation! I’m jealous.

I like what he says about his vacation time, “The end of the year is always a good time to reflect and see what can you do better next year,” Obama told reporters. “That’s how I intend to approach it. I’m sure that I will have even better ideas after a couple days of sleep and sun.”

Link here: http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/obama-arrives-in-his-native-hawaii-for-17-day-holiday-vacation/2013/12/21/d45494ae-6995-11e3-a0b9-249bbb34602c_story.html

Sleep and sun might just be the key to better ideas for 2014. I couldn’t agree more! Here’s to hoping the economy rebounds in 2014.

ENTERTAINMENT

Beyonce is such a smart businesswoman with her surprise album release.  She knows how to get buzz, and the surprise has led to some serious curiosity and sales. With her success, I am glad to see her in the holiday spirit. She went to Walmart and surprised fans again by paying $50 of their Walmart purchases. 750 fans got $50 from Beyonce. That’s a cool $37,500! Happy Holidays from Beyonce!

Link here: http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/people/2013/12/22/beyonce-surprises-fans-at-walmart/4165739/Li

FASHION

I personally love a good, holiday ugly sweater party. I have seen some funny ones with lights on them and some really creative self-made ones.  This year, I saw that the Huffington Post had 10 that would make you want to declare war on Christmas, and so I clicked and was shocked at the price tags attached to them.

This sweater is $1395!

Check out more of these pricey, holiday sweaters: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/12/16/expensive-ugly-holiday-sweaters_n_4455493.html

TECHNOLOGY

So every year, there’s always that one tech gift that sells out.

I searched and searched for what that best tech gift is this year, and then I saw one that I would want.

Now I know this isn’t the most tech savvy item, but I’m surprised that I haven’t heard of “music muffs” until now.

Keeping your ears warm while listening to music or talking on your cell phone? I love it and would like to try out a pair in CO!

SOCIAL GOOD

2013 is coming to an end, and so I watched how Google summed up the year. Was this year full of social good? People searched for “new beginnings, new frontiers, courage, inspiration…”

Look at what the world searched Google for with this year in review.:

Here’s to new beginnings!

Thank you for reading, and stay tuned for Sara’s special end of the year post too.

Happy Holidays!

Until 2014 (Wow that felt weird to type! Happy New Year!),

Ros

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 23, 2013 by in 'All' About the Authors.

Navigation

